SailPoint
Identity governance vendor selling Identity Security Cloud in Standard, Agentic Business and Agentic Business Plus suites with add-ons, plus IdentityIQ for on-premises deployment.
Best for enterprises that need an on-premises option or want to buy governance capabilities suite by suite
Saviynt
Identity Cloud platform that packages IGA, privileged access management, application access governance and non-human identity management on one SaaS platform.
Best for enterprises that want IGA and PAM from one SaaS vendor
| Feature | SailPoint | Saviynt |
|---|---|---|
| Deployment model (SaaS, self-hosted, hybrid) | SaaS (Identity Security Cloud) or self-managed (IdentityIQ) | SaaS only on current product pages |
| IGA included or add-on | Core IGA in every suite; Access Risk Management (SoD) and Password Management are add-ons; CIEM included only in Agentic Business Plus | IGA is one module of Identity Cloud (with PAM, AAG, NHI, ISPM) |
| SoD policy engine | Yes (Access Risk Management add-on for Agentic Business suites) | Yes (cross-application SoD) |
| Privileged access management | Not a listed suite component | Yes (PAM module) |
| Cloud infrastructure entitlements (CIEM) | Included in Agentic Business Plus; add-on otherwise | Not published as a separate module |
| Non-human and AI agent identities | Yes (Machine and Agent Identity Security) | Yes (Non-Human Identity Management) |
| SOC 2 Type 2 | SOC 2 listed; type not stated on trust page | Yes (SOC 2 Type II) |
| ISO 27001 | Yes (27001:2022) | Yes (27001:2022) |
| FedRAMP | Listed; level not stated on trust page | FedRAMP Moderate (IGA and PAM) |
| Data residency regions | Not stated on trust page | 25+ regions |
| Published pricing | No (quote only) | No (quote only) |
| Disclosed vulnerabilities (2024 to 2026) | CVE-2024-10905, IdentityIQ (December 2024) | None found; 2025 bulletin on end-of-life Connect OVA |
| Uptime SLA | Not published | Not published |
Verdict
Choose SailPoint if you need an on-premises IGA product or want to buy governance in suites and add capabilities over time. Choose Saviynt if you want IGA and privileged access management licensed from one SaaS platform and FedRAMP Moderate coverage for both.
On this page
Short answer: Choose SailPoint if you need identity governance that can run on-premises (IdentityIQ) or you want to start on a Standard suite and add capabilities later. Choose Saviynt if you want identity governance and privileged access management from a single SaaS platform. The deciding factor is usually whether PAM belongs in the same purchase as IGA.
This SailPoint vs Saviynt comparison, which also answers the "Saviynt vs SailPoint" question, is based on each vendor's product, packaging, trust and security bulletin pages, checked September 22, 2026. Neither vendor publishes prices, so the pricing section explains how each one sells rather than inventing numbers.
Key takeaways
- SailPoint sells Identity Security Cloud in three suites, and several governance functions, including Access Risk Management and Non-Employee Risk Management, are add-ons rather than suite inclusions (SailPoint suites page, checked September 22, 2026).
- Saviynt lists IGA, PAM, application access governance and non-human identity management as modules of one Identity Cloud platform (Saviynt platform page, checked September 22, 2026).
- SailPoint still offers IdentityIQ for on-premises deployment; Saviynt's current product and marketplace pages describe SaaS delivery only.
- Neither vendor publishes list prices on its site or on its AWS Marketplace listing; both require a quote.
SailPoint vs Saviynt at a glance
The table above compares the two identity governance and administration (IGA) platforms on rows drawn from the site's identity and access management evaluation criteria: deployment, packaging, adjacent capabilities, compliance and security record. Rows for connectors, HR-driven lifecycle and admin tooling are not yet researched for this pair, and no scores are given; see how we research for the approach.
Choose SailPoint if
- You must run identity governance on infrastructure you control, which IdentityIQ supports.
- You want to start on the Standard suite and add capabilities such as password management or cloud entitlement management as add-ons.
- You already run IdentityIQ and want a vendor migration path to SaaS (SailPoint's Modernization Flex option targets that move).
- You need attestations beyond the US, such as IRAP in Australia or C5 in Germany, both listed on SailPoint's trust page.
Choose Saviynt if
- You want privileged access management licensed and administered on the same platform as IGA.
- You need FedRAMP Moderate authorization that covers both IGA and PAM, which Saviynt states on its trust page.
- You are consolidating application access governance (for example SAP, Oracle or Salesforce access) with identity governance.
- You are comfortable with SaaS only and do not need an on-premises product.
Deployment: SailPoint has an on-premises option, Saviynt is SaaS
SailPoint wins on deployment flexibility. SailPoint offers Identity Security Cloud as SaaS and IdentityIQ as on-premises identity governance software (SailPoint product page, checked September 22, 2026). That matters for regulated organizations and air-gapped environments that cannot send identity data to a vendor cloud.
Saviynt Identity Cloud is delivered as SaaS; its AWS Marketplace listing describes it as software as a service deployed on AWS (AWS Marketplace, checked September 22, 2026). Saviynt's trust page lists data residency in more than 25 regions and bring-your-own encryption keys. Saviynt's current pages do not describe an on-premises product.
Watch out: an on-premises IdentityIQ deployment puts patching on your team. The December 2024 IdentityIQ vulnerability (see Security record compared) needed customers to apply e-fixes themselves.
Packaging and scope: suites and add-ons vs one platform
Saviynt is stronger for buyers who want breadth in one contract; SailPoint is stronger for buyers who want to buy governance in stages. SailPoint's suites break down as follows (SailPoint suites page, checked September 22, 2026):
| SailPoint suite | Included beyond core IGA | Available as add-ons |
|---|---|---|
| Standard | Lifecycle management, compliance readiness | Accelerated Application Management, CIEM, Password Management |
| Agentic Business | Data Access Security | The above plus Non-Employee Risk Management, Access Risk Management |
| Agentic Business Plus | CIEM, Atlas Enterprise, Data Access Security | Accelerated Application Management, Password Management, Non-Employee Risk Management, Access Risk Management |
Saviynt lists IGA, PAM, application access governance, non-human identity management, identity security posture management, just-in-time access and cross-application separation of duties as parts of its Identity Cloud platform (Saviynt platform page). Saviynt's own comparison page describes this as a "unified, AI-native platform" against SailPoint's approach (Saviynt comparison page); that is a vendor claim, and module licensing still applies.
AI and non-human identities
Call this a reasoned tie on published scope. SailPoint describes AI-driven access certifications, Access Modeling and Identity Outliers, plus non-human identity security, and in December 2025 added Navigator options that bundle Machine Identity Security and Agent Identity Security (SailPoint Navigators announcement). Saviynt lists Non-Human Identity Management covering credentials, workloads and AI agents, shadow AI discovery and runtime intent evaluation for AI agents on its Zuma platform (Saviynt platform page). Neither vendor publishes independent test data on these features, so validate them in a proof of concept against your own agents and service accounts.
Compliance attestations compared
Both platforms carry the attestations most enterprise security reviews ask for. Saviynt is clearer on federal scope.
| Attestation | SailPoint | Saviynt |
|---|---|---|
| SOC 1 / SOC 2 | SOC 1, SOC 2, SOC 3 | SOC 1 Type II, SOC 2 Type II |
| ISO | 27001:2022, 27017, 27018, 27701 | 27001:2022, 27017:2015 |
| FedRAMP | Listed; level not stated on the trust page | Moderate, stated as covering IGA and PAM |
| Other | GovRAMP, IRAP, C5, Common Criteria, CSA STAR 1 and 2 | PCI DSS, Cyber Essentials, Cyber Essentials Plus |
Sources: SailPoint trust page and Saviynt trust page, both checked September 22, 2026. Request the current reports under NDA; a listed certification does not tell you which products are in scope.
Pricing compared
Neither SailPoint nor Saviynt publishes prices, so seat math at 10, 50 and 250 users is not possible from public sources. Both AWS Marketplace listings say pricing comes through a private offer (SailPoint listing, Saviynt listing, checked September 22, 2026).
| Pricing mechanic | SailPoint | Saviynt |
|---|---|---|
| Public list price | Not published | Not published |
| Packaging | Three suites plus add-ons | Platform modules |
| Flexible commitment | Navigators: pre-negotiated commitment that lets you shift spend across capabilities and identity types | Not published |
| Buy through AWS Marketplace | Yes, private offer | Yes, private offer |
Pricing note: checked September 22, 2026. When you request quotes, ask both vendors to price the same scope: identity count, human and non-human identities, connectors, SoD, and PAM if needed. Without PAM in scope, Saviynt's platform breadth does not show up in the price.
The fine print compared
| Item | SailPoint | Saviynt |
|---|---|---|
| On-premises product | IdentityIQ | Not published |
| SoD in the entry package | Not listed for Standard; Access Risk Management is an add-on to the Agentic Business suites | Listed as a platform capability |
| Migration offer | Modernization Flex for IdentityIQ to Identity Security Cloud | Not published |
| Data residency | Not stated on the trust page | 25+ regions, bring your own keys |
| Contract terms, SLA | Not published | Not published |
Security record compared
| Date | Event | Impact | Vendor response | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024-12-06 | CVE-2024-10905, CVSS 10 improper access control (directory traversal) in IdentityIQ 8.4, 8.3, 8.2 and earlier | Unauthorized HTTP access to protected static content in the application directory; no in-the-wild exploitation reported | E-fixes for supported versions; fixed in 8.4p2, 8.3p5, 8.2p8 | SecurityWeek |
| 2025-04-12 | Security bulletin S25-01: CVE-2025-3837, CVE-2025-3838, CVE-2025-3840 in the end-of-life OVA-based Connect component | Configuration issues including SELinux disabled, excessive file permissions and weak TLS; applies only to the deprecated OVA deployment | Hardening guidance published; component deprecated September 2023, support ended January 2024 | Saviynt bulletin |
The SailPoint vulnerability affected the self-managed IdentityIQ product, not Identity Security Cloud. Neither vendor publishes an uptime figure on the pages reviewed.
Switching between SailPoint and Saviynt
Neither vendor publishes a documented tool for migrating directly from the other's platform. SailPoint's documented migration path is from its own IdentityIQ to Identity Security Cloud, sold as Navigator Modernization Flex (SailPoint Navigators announcement). A move between the two vendors means rebuilding connectors, roles, access profiles, certification campaigns, SoD rulesets and workflows. Export certification history and audit evidence before cutover, since auditors may ask for it after the old platform is gone.
Which to pick for your scenario
| Scenario | Pick | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Bank that must keep identity governance on-premises | SailPoint (IdentityIQ) | Only SailPoint offers an on-premises product |
| Federal contractor needing IGA and PAM in one FedRAMP Moderate SaaS | Saviynt | Saviynt states FedRAMP Moderate for IGA and PAM |
| Existing IdentityIQ customer moving to SaaS | SailPoint | Vendor migration offer (Modernization Flex) |
| Enterprise consolidating PAM and IGA vendors | Saviynt | PAM is a module of the same platform |
| Team starting with lifecycle and certifications only, adding later | SailPoint | Standard suite plus add-ons |
When neither fits
If you need workforce SSO and MFA rather than governance, or have fewer identities than an enterprise IGA contract justifies, start from the identity and access management category hub. If Saviynt is off the table and you are replacing SailPoint, the SailPoint alternatives roundup covers Microsoft Entra ID Governance, Okta Identity Governance and newer tools.
FAQ
What is the difference between SailPoint and Saviynt?
SailPoint sells identity governance in suites with add-ons and offers both SaaS (Identity Security Cloud) and on-premises (IdentityIQ) products. Saviynt sells IGA, PAM and related modules on one SaaS platform, Identity Cloud.
Does Saviynt include privileged access management?
Yes. Saviynt lists privileged access management as a module of its Identity Cloud platform, alongside IGA and application access governance. SailPoint's suite pages do not list PAM as a component.
Can SailPoint be deployed on-premises?
Yes. SailPoint IdentityIQ is on-premises identity governance software, while Identity Security Cloud is SaaS. Saviynt's current pages describe SaaS delivery only.
How much do SailPoint and Saviynt cost?
Neither SailPoint nor Saviynt publishes prices. Both quote per deal, including through AWS Marketplace private offers, so request quotes for the same identity count and module scope.
Are SailPoint and Saviynt FedRAMP authorized?
Saviynt states FedRAMP Moderate authorization covering IGA and PAM. SailPoint lists FedRAMP on its trust page without stating the level there, so confirm the level and in-scope products with SailPoint.
Bottom line
If an on-premises deployment or a staged, suite-by-suite purchase matters most, put SailPoint first in your proof of concept. If you plan to replace a separate PAM tool at the same time, Saviynt's single platform is the stronger candidate. The verdict flips if your PAM stays with another vendor, which removes Saviynt's main structural advantage.
Use the shortlist builder to turn your requirements into a checklist to score both vendors against.
Sources (11)
- SailPoint Identity Security Cloud, SailPoint, https://www.sailpoint.com/products/identity-security-cloud, accessed September 22, 2026
- Identity Security Cloud suites, SailPoint, https://www.sailpoint.com/products/identity-security-cloud/atlas/suites, accessed September 22, 2026
- SailPoint introduces Navigators, SailPoint, https://www.sailpoint.com/press-releases/sailpoint-introduces-navigators, accessed September 22, 2026
- Trust Center, SailPoint, https://www.sailpoint.com/why-us/trust, accessed September 22, 2026
- SailPoint Identity Security, AWS Marketplace, https://aws.amazon.com/marketplace/pp/prodview-pz66rdhrnioru, accessed September 22, 2026
- Critical vulnerability discovered in SailPoint IdentityIQ, SecurityWeek, https://www.securityweek.com/critical-vulnerability-discovered-in-sailpoint-identityiq/, accessed September 22, 2026
- Identity Security Platform, Saviynt, https://saviynt.com/platform, accessed September 22, 2026
- Solution comparison, Saviynt, https://saviynt.com/solution-comparison, accessed September 22, 2026
- Trust and Security Center, Saviynt, https://saviynt.com/trust-compliance-security, accessed September 22, 2026
- Security Bulletin S25-01, Saviynt, https://saviynt.com/security-bulletin-s25-01, accessed September 22, 2026
- Saviynt Identity Cloud, AWS Marketplace, https://aws.amazon.com/marketplace/pp/prodview-tial4xle4qu54, accessed September 22, 2026